Visit Rose Cottage
SUNDAY 10AM TO 4PM
GOLD COIN DONATION
The Australiana Pioneer Village
Step back to a time when Australia's first settlers battled to survive in a harsh land.
In 1809 Thomas Rose bought from William Mackay part of a 30 acre farm a short distance down-stream from Laurel Farm and on higher ground.
This became the focus of the Rose family life and it was here that Thomas and Jane built, around 1811, the house that is now known as "Rose Cottage" Wilberforce.
It is recognised as Australia’s oldest known timber slab house situated on it’s original site.
The family occupied the cottage continuously until 1961.
Ownership was subsequently transferred to Hawkesbury City Council. Bill McLachlan actually had the vision to acquire the site and built the Hawkesbury Heritage Farm now known as The Australiana Pioneer Village around it - using a number of old buildings from around the Hawkesbury district.
A Permanent Conservation Order, first proposed by the Rose family in 1977 was finally granted on 14 August 1985.
However, on 17 January 1993, the Council returned the cottage to the Society by the transfer of the deeds for a nominal $1.
Since 1994 extensive conservation work has been undertaken by the Society under the guidance of conservation architects in order to maintain the cottage in a viable condition.
The result of all this activity is a building and grounds that we hope would please it’s original owners and occupiers.